With only 3 days (nay…less than 72 hours!) to go before the ghosts, goblins, witches and warlocks of Halloween descend upon us, hundreds of licensed Florida adjusters come to grips with Florida’s new reality…the mandatory 5 Hour Law & Ethics Update course. The number of Florida-licensed adjusters whose license/CE requirements are due on the last day of October, 2014 number well into the thousands. Those who need to, but haven’t taken, this new course by midnight, October 31st, will face some very serious consequences.
For two years, the Department of Financial Services and providers all over the state have given explanation and warning of what was to come since the most significant change in Florida adjuster licensing and CE laws since 1989, when the CE requirements for Florida adjusters first began. Few listened, and when they did, they didn’t listen well…preferring to procrastinate and expecting the vendor population to continue providing their CE “for free”. Claims employers, most of whom choose to ignore CE requirements as “the adjuster’s problem and responsibility”, are now also finding that they cannot depend on the vendor population to supply their claim staff with the new requirement…a course that is filled with specific content and time requirements that defy traditional “in-house” delivery methods. Now, a mere 3 days away from the witching hour of Florida Adjuster CE, adjusters are scrambling and crying, “Where can I get the course? I can’t find anyone offering it. You mean it all has to be taken at once? Why haven’t I heard of this before? How much does it cost? I can’t take off work!” …and on and on and on and on they go… Continue Reading
For the first time since 1989, Florida has changed the continuing education requirements for licensed adjusters by dropping the mandatory category requirements of Law, Ethics, and Optional categories and how many of each that adjusters must take.
Effective today, October 1st, ALL Florida-licensed (resident-adjusters in most cases) adjusters whose CE compliance periods end this month, and from here on out, MUST complete a specific 5-Hour Law & Ethics Update course in each two-year license CE compliance period. The content of this 5-Hour Update course is highly regulated and most of the content has been specifically described by Florida’s Department of Financial Services/Education Section.
The problem is…despite nearly two years of communication from the Division of Agent & Agency Services to Florida insurance licensees, the message has not effectively reached its intended audience, and now adjusters are panicking and rushing to ensure compliance and save their licenses. Estimates are that from now on, with each passing month, approximately 2,500 Florida licensed adjusters will come face to face with this mandatory requirement…and find limited ability or availability to meet the requirement…and with penalties of $250 per licensee for failure to do so, that’s a scary thought. But there is a solution… Continue Reading
A friend called me the other day, asking for some help in determining if he had insurance coverage for the following situation:
He has a personal auto policy and his 20 year old son (Ryan) is listed as an insured driver. His son goes to college and lives off campus in a rental house that he shares with four other roommates. One of the roommates (Paul) has a scooter/moped that he uses to travel back and forth to campus.
One day after getting permission from Paul to use his moped, Ryan lost control and crashed it into one of his other roommate’s (Kyle) pickup truck, which was parked in the driveway. The impact caused significant damage to Kyle’s rear passenger door.
After determining that the scooter/moped had no liability insurance available to cover the damage to the pickup truck, Kyle filed an uninsured motorist property damage claim with his insurance company. (Yes, UM/PD coverage was included in Kyle’s auto policy.)
Here’s the question: Considering the facts of this case, and disregarding any UM/PD issues, would Ryan have any insurance coverage under his father’s Personal Auto Policy (PAP) should Kyle’s insurance company pursue subrogation?